Health: High Fructose Corn Syrup

Photo Credit

So how are you doing on drinking more water? Lately, I have been struggling a little bit to reach my required amount. I found that adding a little lemon juice has helped me to get more water down. In addition, I realized that I drink much more water if I keep ice in my bottle, but then again that could have a little to do with the aversions I’ve been experiencing. ;)

After increasing your water intake, the next most important thing that I believe you can do for your health is to eliminate high fructose corn syrup (HFCS) from your diet. Truth be told, this is most likely a little more than a baby step in improving your health. The reason is twofold.

  1. It is in what seems like EVERYTHING!! So eliminating it from your diet will prove to be a little more work than you might be used to doing. It was for us.
  2. It is in a large percentage of convenience foods, which are mostly processed and bad for your health anyways.

A friend who is much further along in the health world than I, described high fructose corn syrup as follows:

These pseudo-foods are so insidious and cause so much damage to your immune system and organs that only a thorough eradication from your pantry and fridge will allow you to reap the rewards of health.

So what exactly IS high fructose corn syrup?

High fructose corn syrup is a commonly used sweetener and preservative in many of our processed & packaged goods. One day I want to walk through a supermarket and make a list of all the products that contains high fructose corn syrup. This might take awhile, but it is something I would love to share with you.

Why is high fructose corn syrup bad for me?

I am far from qualified to explain this. Therefore, I would like to refer you to a few trusted sources that I found that described the dangers in a digestible way.

“No-no” ingredients by Keeper of the Home

Sugar May Be Bad But This Sweetner Is Far More Deadly by Dr. Mercolafor the record, I do not agree with all things Dr. Mercola. He makes great points!! However, I don’t believe in using the scare factor. I just needed to insert that caveat.

My Summary of HFCS:

Basically, high fructose corn syrup is a form of sugar that is fructose instead of glucose. Glucose is used by our bodies as an energy source. However, fructose is stored directly as fat. There are no enzymes in HFCS, therefore, there is zero nutritional benefit to consuming high fructose corn syrup. Since our bodies depend on our food consumption to run, it is important that we not waste our calories on foods that have zero nutritional value.

In addition to not having any nutritional value, HFCS is actually detrimental to our health. It has been linked to major health complications such as obesity, increased risk of diabetes, increased risk of heart disease, and contributes to high cholesterol and insulin resistance. In addition, and one of the biggest problems is that it tricks your mind into thinking that your body is hungry; thus, increasing our desire for more food.


If you are looking for ways to change the way you and your family eat, and are looking for steps to work in the that direction, I would highly recommend taking the HFCS removal challenge. It was a lot to take on, but I know that it was worth it.  I just have a peace knowing that we are no longer putting that stuff in our body, and that we are replacing it with food full of nutrition.

One thought on “Health: High Fructose Corn Syrup

  1. Pingback: Best Recipes: Pancakes and Syrup | The Dutton Summit

Leave a Reply

